hiking in the desert

Oh, what a day! I spent the day hiking with a girlfriend and the Sierra Club in the outskirts of Phoenix.  It is always so refreshing to get out in nature and get my workout on, and with a good friend by my side that’s just even better 🙂 One of my goals this year was to get outside more and explore the state we live in.  Aside from the blotchy sunburn from where I missed applying sunscreen, I think this excursion was a success 😉 Here are some pictures from today.  I’m not a photographer, so these don’t do the view ANY justice, but these are my favorites anyway…

a fallen sahuaro: these are the sahuaro's ribs after it's dried out

a fallen sahuaro: these are the sahuaro’s ribs after it’s dried out

love seeing such pretty green plants growing between rocks...

love seeing such pretty green plants growing between rocks…

view halfway up

view halfway up

love the twisted and gnarly trees in the desert

love the twisted and gnarly trees in the desert

abandoned weber copper mine

abandoned weber copper mine

view from the top

view from the top

About amy

I'm a crafter, a wife, a gardener, an aunt, a sister, a daughter, an entertainer, a reader, a creator. I like to read and paint and cook and relax with friends. Life is a gift, and I live it to the fullest!
This entry was posted in Everything Else and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to hiking in the desert

  1. I’ve been dying to get my hands on a nice round tumbleweed 🙂

    • amy says:

      haha if I find one I’ll mail it to you 😉

      • sweet!!! You might love what I do with it too 😉 A friend of mine that moved to Albuquerque sent me a super excited text saying she seen her first tumbleweed lol it was so cute!! I told her to run and catch it for me!!! 😉

      • amy says:

        I’m intrigued for sure! There are fewer and fewer around here every year because of all the developments going up. But I’ll keep an eye out when monsoon season hits 🙂

Leave a Reply

